Cauliflower Casserole

Remember when I finally discovered how to make béchamel sauce? And I decided that it was magical and needed to be used in more of my recipes. Well I wasn’t kidding! So here’s the second time I’m using it.

Casserole 1

This cauliflower casserole made for an absolutely delicious dinner! Warm and creamy, with a good serving of veggies. What’s not to like!

Casserole 2

As you scroll through my pictures, you may notice that my whisk is a little oddly shaped…yes it is broken. But the problem is only cosmetic and it functions perfectly well. So I will eventually invest in a new one but likely as long as it continues to work, I’ll keep using it!

Casserole 4

Ingredients:

  • One head cauliflower
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter
  • 75g of plain flour
  • 750ml of milk
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 deg C.
  2. Break the cauliflower head into small bite sized pieces. Cauliflower Pieces
  3. Melt the butter in a pan until it starts to bubble. Then add in the flour and whisk to form a roux. Add milk and continue to whisk until it becomes thick. (You can check if the sauce is at the appropriate thickness by using a butter knife to make a figure 8 and checking to see if it holds the shape). Whisk in nutmeg, salt, and pepper.
  4. Boil the cauliflower pieces until they become tender. Drain the cauliflower.
  5. Pour the béchamel over the cauliflower and gently mix in.
  6. Spread the cauliflower into a casserole dish and sprinkle parmesan cheese over it. Prepared Casserole
  7. Bake the casserole in the oven for 15 minutes. Then turn on the broiler and continue to bake for 10 minutes, until the parmesan starts to bubble and brown.
  8. Serve warm and enjoy!

I served this casserole with a few slices of fresh bread. The recipe made for an easy and delicious dinner!

Served Casserole

