Thanksgiving Dinner

Well it’s almost Christmas and I still haven’t gotten around to my Thanksgiving dinner post. So I’m hurrying it up now! And you could use some or all of these recipes for your Christmas dinner–very versatile!

I was originally thinking of making a separate post for each dish but then I thought, is that really necessary? I didn’t really change any of the recipes that I used. And time is of the essence! So, instead, what I’m going to do is tell you each of the dishes I made with links to the original recipes. And I’ll mention any minor changes I made along the way.  So here we go! (Also, please note my super adorable apron ❤ ).

Butternut Squash Soup

This is the first dish to get started on because it’s going to take hours in the slow cooker. I used  this recipe from Gimme Some Oven last year and loved it so much that I used it again. Only changes I made were that I didn’t have any coconut milk on hand so I added almond milk, which worked pretty well.

I didn’t want to waste the seeds so I enlisted my brother’s help with making the dinner. I had him separate the seeds from the pulp and clean them up. We then mixed them up about a tablespoon vegetable oil, salt, and pepper in a bowl. We poured this over the seeds and gave them a quick toss, spread them over a baking sheet, and popped them into the oven at 350 deg F for about 10-15 min. Just watch them to make sure they don’t burn! They made a great topping for the soup. At least, the ones that made it until dinner–my brother was munching on them the whole time we were in the kitchen.

img_4290

Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The next item to get started on is the mashed potatoes because these will also need to be in the slow cooker for quite a while. I used Karina’s recipe over at Cafe Delites with a few changes. First, I didn’t use sour cream because I like to keep my recipes relatively healthy and, quite frankly, I didn’t think mashed potatoes need sour cream. Potatoes taste great, why try to mess with that?! But even I couldn’t resist adding some cheese. Instead of stirring it into the mashed potatoes, I decided to transfer them to an oven-safe bowl, topped with a  generous sprinkling of of cheddar cheese, and popped it into the oven to bake for about 10 minutes at 350 deg F. Perfecto  🙂

Pumpkin Pie

I admit that there was once a time when I thought pumpkin pie was gross. I think it was sometime during my freshman year of college that I saw the light. It’s a rich and creamy pie with a subtle sweetness, and an absolute must for a Thanksgiving dinner. I’ve made Gina’s recipe at Skinnytaste many times and it’s absolutely delicious. I usually buy the pie crusts but I decided to make my own this year using this recipe.

img_4257

I decided to dress up the decoration this year; I’ve seen this turkey decoration making the rounds on pinterest and decided it didn’t look too difficult. My brother and I had a fun time making these decorations for the pie and we enlisted my dad to take the pictures. I didn’t use Renee’s recipe for the filling so I can’t account for that but the decorations are absolutely adorable.

img_4266

Here’s what I did: I started with Gina’s recipe for the pie and filling and popped it in the oven for about 30 minutes. Then I pulled the pie out of the oven to lay the turkey decorations over it. Before I put the pie back in the oven, I wrapped some aluminum foil around the exposed rim of pie crust so it wouldn’t brown too much. Then I finished baking according to Gina’s instructions.

img_4284

Pull-Apart Garlic Parmesan Biscuits

Biscuits are the perfect side to go with Thanksgiving dinner but why not make them fun and…pull-apart?! I know, my idea of fun is super thrilling. To be fair, it is more exciting than normal biscuits. When I started on Zoom Yummy’s recipe, I was in a time crunch. I had no time to make my own dough. So, instead, I thawed up three cans of frozen biscuit dough and those worked pretty well. If you have the time and want to try out Petra’s instructions for the dough, I’m sure that’ll turn out great, too.

img_4298

I also decided to bake the biscuits in a large bowl instead of a bundt pan because, well, at this point all my dishes had been served in white dish ware and I wanted to stick with the theme.

Harissa Baked Eggs

Now we come to the main entree. You may have noticed the lack of turkey on my dinner table, well apart from the decoration on the pumpkin pie. As some of you will know, I’m vegetarian so you’ll have to look elsewhere for a turkey recipe. However, I do eat eggs and I figured we could use some protein in this Thanksgiving meal so I turned to Donal Skehan’s recipe for these Harissa Baked Eggs. I’m posting this recipe last because I made it last…you want your main entree to be served warm, right?!

I had to improvise a little with this recipe because I didn’t have canned tomatoes. What I had were real tomatoes and canned tomato sauce…so why not mix them both and go with that? If you’re in a similar predicament, I couldn’t tell any difference in the end. I also used six eggs rather than four–we had three people at dinner and I figured we should each get two servings.

img_4295

I decided to get a little creative about the way I served the baked eggs. So I sliced an acorn squash into rings (with some difficulty, let me assure you). I then brushed them with oil and sprinkled with some salt, pepper, and chili flakes. They went into the oven at 400 deg F for about 10 minutes until I could easily pierce them with a fork.

img_4260

I scooped one of the baked eggs into the acorn squash ring and served with a side of toasted bread. Unfortunately, at that point, we were very hungry and just dug in so I have no pictures of it. You’ll have to take my word for it that it was very yummy!

img_4300

So that’s it, folks, that’s my Thanksgiving Day Dinner. Hope you found it fun and useful and maybe you even found some inspiration for your Christmas Dinner!

