Edamame Spaghetti with Avocado Pesto

In case you didn’t already believe that soy is an extremely versatile legume, someone went ahead and made it into a spaghetti noodle. And it’s delicious. It’s a little chewier than regular pasta but the overall effect is nice. Just be careful not to overcook the noodles or the texture becomes quite rubbery.

img_0398

This is a new recipe from the one I made the last few times for edamame spaghetti. It’s delicious but it’s a little time-consuming. And on this particular occasion, time was not something I had on my side. I was about to start a week of night shifts and I had no energy. And I just needed something simple but tasty to get me through those nights. Enter this recipe. And I gotta tell you, the avocado makes the pesto sauce for this recipe so wonderfully creamy…absolutely delicious.

img_0397

Ingredients:

  • 1 (7.05 oz.) package of Explore Asian Organic Edamame Spaghetti
  • 1 large avocado
  • 1 cup fresh baby spinach, packed
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, packed
  • 2 tbsps lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Optional garnish: crumbled feta cheese

Instructions:

  1. Cook Edamame Spaghetti according to package instructions.
  2. Prepare the pesto by blending together all the remaining ingredients (except the garnishes) in a food processor until well-blended, scraping the sides as needed.
  3. Mix the pesto into the spaghetti and garnish if desired.

img_0924

The original recipe called for pomegranate seeds, as well. But buying pomegranate is expensive, especially when it’s not in season. So as I was wandering through the grocery store, I saw cranberries and thought they would be a good substitute.

I was wrong.

Until that day, I had never eaten a raw cranberry so I didn’t realize how sour, tart, and bitter they are. My goodness! You know that face babies make when they taste a lemon for the first time? Yup, that was the face I made when I bit into the cranberry. How much sugar must they add to dried cranberries or cranberry juice to make them palatable?? I don’t even want to think about it.

Anyway, I saved those cranberries for another recipe so keep a look out for that post!

One thought on “Edamame Spaghetti with Avocado Pesto

Comments are closed.