Spinach and Bell Pepper Goat Cheese Quiche

Earlier this year, I was spent a month out of town for an away rotation. But it didn’t really feel like I was away from home because one of my best friends lived in the same city! It’s so easy to feel alone and get cabin fever when you’re somewhere new. Having someone present who cares about you makes all the difference! So it was great to be there with her and it ended up being a really fun month.


During the time I spent there, my friend invited me over for a potluck. Now, as you may recall from earlier posts, I didn’t have a whole lot of kitchen equipment available in the apartment where I was subletting. Not like I was going to let that stop me. So I picked a relatively simple recipe which really only required a pie pan. Luckily, my hosts had one and were happy to let me use it!


I love quiches because they are so rich and savory! This recipe, which I found over at SpoonForkBacon, is relatively healthy compared to store bought quiche. It ends up being a fancy tasting dish but is very simple to prepare so I definitely encourage you to try it out. I made a few changes to the original recipe as noted below.

Ingredients:

  • 1 store bought pie dough, thawed
  • 3 whole eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 cup gruyere cheese, shredded
  • 1 cup sautéed spinach, excess liquid removed and chopped
  • 1/2 orange bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 2 ounces herbed goat cheese, crumbled
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 deg F.
  2. Roll out the pie dough and press into a quiche/tart/pie dish. Prick the dough with a fork a few times and place in the refrigerator to chill.
  3. Whisk together the eggs, egg whites, and milk in a mixing bowl. Season with salt and pepper and set aside. img_9973
  4. Remove the quiche shell from the refrigerator and fill with a layer of spinach followed by the sliced bell pepper. img_9978
  5. Pour the egg mixture over the vegetables and top with goat cheese.
  6. Place quiche in the oven and bake for 20 minutes. Then, reduce heat to 375 deg F and continue to bake for an additional 20 minutes or until set in the center and golden brown.
  7. Allow the quiche to cool for about 10 minutes and serve!

