Tofu Sandwiches

As a vegetarian, I’m always looking for a way to add more protein to my meals. This burger definitely reaches that goal because, well, it’s literally a slab of tofu. No joke.

img_4113

I wasn’t always a fan of tofu but it turns out I just hadn’t had the right type. The first time I had tofu, it was the really soft type…too mushy and definitely not appetizing for me. But after I discovered firmer tofu types and the many marinades and sauces, tofu didn’t seem so bad. So much so, apparently, that I can just eat a slab of tofu as a burger.

Just goes to show that you should never say never to a dish/ ingredient. Maybe you just need to try a different style of preparation. Or maybe you need to wait for your preferences to evolve. For example, I used to hate eggplant when I was little. Again, it was just too mushy. My mom would try to trick me into eating eggplant curry by telling me that it was some other vegetable. Not that I ever believed her. But somewhere in college, I started eating eggplant again and discovered that I actually liked it. Haven’t looked back since. And now, it’s the same with tofu!

img_4111

What I’m trying to say can probably be best expressed in the words of Shakespeare as written in his Much Ado About Nothing.

but doth not the appetite alter? a man loves the meat in his youth that he cannot endure in his age.

This is one of my favorite plays, by the way! If you don’t think you like Shakespeare, I highly recommend you try this one out. It was the first time that I had read a Shakespeare text with complete ease, without needing to piece together the meaning from the unfamiliar style of 16th century English. I actually found myself laughing aloud at all the jokes and witty banter between the characters. So please give it try! And if for some crazy reason, you don’t understand it, please go watch Richard Branagh’s 1993 film of the same name. You will not be disappointed!

much-ado-about-nothing

So that’s my plug for Shakespeare. Now, on to the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz firm tofu, cut into 4 planks
  • 4 tsp olive oil
  • 4 tsp maple syrup
  • Salt to taste
  • Cayenne pepper to taste
  • 8 slices bread of your choice
  • 4 tbsp tahini
  • Tomato slices
  • Avocado slices
  • Kale

Instructions:

  1. Blot the tofu slices with paper towels, being gentle so the tofu doesn’t crumble.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a skillet. Add tofu slices, flipping as each side browns.
  3. Sprinkle one side with salt and cayenne pepper. Then flip slices and sprinkle other side.
  4. Drizzle maple syrup over each side of the tofu slices, flipping in between. Cook tofu until the maple syrup caramelizes over it. Then, remove from heat. img_4109
  5. To assemble sandwich, spread tahini over two slices of bread. Add avocado slices, kale, tofu, tomato slices, and more kale to one slice of bread. Cover with the other slice of bread to close the sandwich. This recipe will make 4 sandwiches.
