Chickpea Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

So I am currently out of town on a visiting elective. For those of you who don’t know what that means, the basic concept is that medical students have the opportunity to travel to different hospitals around the country in their fourth year to get exposure to even more specialties. What this means for the blog is 1) I am severely lacking in kitchen supplies and probably can’t try out many new recipes and 2) it’s the optimal time to play catch-up on all the recipes I haven’t yet written up.

IMG_4071

I found this recipe on Donal Skehan’s website and thought that it would be the perfect recipe for Father’s Day (I told you guys I was behind on my posts…). Unfortunately, it didn’t work out because apparently my dad already had plans for that night. So I’ll have to redo Father’s Day some other point this year. So my brother and I enjoyed the meal ourselves and I had some great leftovers for lunch for a couple days!

IMG_4074

Ingredients:

  • 4 large sweet potatoes
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 cups kale, leaves torn from stem
  • 1 cup lentil sprouts
    • If you want this to be really protein packed! You can also use alfalfa sprouts.
  • 200 g chickpeas
    • I like to rehydrate dried chickpeas in the slow cooker to avoid the extra salt found in canned chickpeas.
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp chili flakes
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp tomato pickle
    • It’s what I had sitting in the fridge (very typical item in the collection of Indian groceries) but you can also use Sriracha.

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 deg F.
  2. Place the sweet potatoes on a baking tray and drizzle with half the olive oil. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes. IMG_4051
  3. Heat remaining oil on a pan. Add the kale and cover immediately. After a minute, add about 1/4 cup water to the pan and cover again. This keeps the kale a bit more tender as it cooks. IMG_4053
  4. Add salt, pepper, chili flakes, and chickpeas to the kale and cook for about 2 minutes. IMG_4057
  5. In a separate bowl, mix together yogurt and tomato pickle.
  6. Take the sweet potatoes out of the oven and slice through the middle, stuffing them with the kale mixture. IMG_4065
  7. Top with yogurt and sprouts. IMG_4066

 

This turned out to be a really great protein-packed meal so I really hope you get a chance to try it out! And be sure to check out Donal’s website–he’s got some really great recipes and his cooking videos are awesome. In the meantime, let me know what you guys think of this recipe! Enjoy!

