Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

I really wanted to make a cake this weekend but didn’t really have a reason to. Like that was going to stop me…I like to have something to nibble on while I take my coffee/tea so I used that as an excuse. This cake was only mildly sweet so it paired very well with the strong flavors of my ginger cardamom chai. Perfect for my afternoon tea!

Cake and Chai

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 stick butter, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup all purpose flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup fresh raspberries
  • 1 tbsp powdered sugar

IMG_3814

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 deg F.
  2. Prepare 9-inch spring bottom cake tin by greasing the bottom of the tin with cooking spray. Cover the bottom with a circular piece of parchment paper and grease again with cooking spray.
  3. Cream together butter and sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Then add vanilla and egg, one at a time. Continue to whisk on high speed until well combined.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  5. Add flour and buttermilk in three batches to the butter mixture. Scrape sides of bowl as you mix.
  6. Pour batter into cake tin, smoothing the top over. Sprinkle raspberries over the cake. IMG_3808
  7. Bake for 25 minutes or until the cake is golden and a toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Once the cake has cooled, remove it from the tin and separate the cake from the parchment paper.
  9. Sprinkle the top of the cake with powdered sugar and serve!

IMG_3812

This cake was so light and airy! It’s easily one of the best cakes I’ve made. Only problem was that it was so light that the raspberries all sank to the bottom! There must be a way to have both…next time, I might try adding the raspberries halfway through the baking. If you have a solution for this dilemma, please let me know in the comments!

IMG_3816

One thought on “Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

Comments are closed.