Strawberry Sour Cream Scones

So the weather is finally getting warm here in Chicago! Well, kinda. We have our good and bad days. Today is a good one!

One of the nice things about the warm temperatures is all the fresh fruit. Can’t wait to start baking with all the summer berries! This recipe uses strawberries because I had some left over from that strawberry cake . But you could use any fruit you like!

I had many problems while making these scones but no photographic evidence exists. My photographer (i.e., my brother whom I coerced into helping me with this) was given strict instructions to not take pictures of the many disasters. But here’s the gist of what happened. My dough ended up being too wet when I decided to deviate from the recipe so I began to feverishly mix in more flour.

I wanted to make these scones round but, unfortunately, I don’t own a round cutter. Halfway through trying to spread out the dough on the counter, I decided it wasn’t going to work. So back into the mixing bowl went the dough. I resigned myself to making my usual triangular scones. But halfway through spreading out the dough on one of my silicone mats, I changed my mind again. The original plan was to make round scones and that’s what I would do! I can get really stubborn at times…So I started scooping spoons of dough onto another silicone mat and shaped them into discs.

In all the commotion, the only thought I had was, “Oh, I’ve made a horrible mistake.” But the universe rewards the persistent, or so I’d like to think, because I somehow ended up with circular scones that tasted pretty good. Mission achieved! I do recommend, however, that you use a round cutter if you have it. I’m certain that would have made this process much less chaotic.

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar + 1 tbsp for sprinkling
  • 4 oz cold butter, grated
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup strawberries, chopped
  • 2 spoons buttermilk

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 deg F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar.
  3. Grate butter into the bowl and mix with your hands until you get a coarse dough.
  4. Gently fold strawberries into the dough.
  5. In a separate bowl, whisk together milk and sour cream. Pour into the dry ingredients and work the dough with your hands.
  6. Whisk the egg in a separate bowl and add to the dough, kneading gently.
  7. For circular scones, roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface until it is 1/2 an inch thick. Use a round cutter to cut the dough into small discs.
    • For a more complicated way to get circular scones, see my rant above.
    • For triangular scones, shape the dough into a large disc, 1/2 inch thick, on a silicone mat and cut into 8 slices.
  8. Brush the scones with buttermilk and sprinkle with sugar.
  9. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Phew! After all that work, I think it’s time to sit down and enjoy the fruits (hah, get it, because of the strawberries? I love terrible puns) of my labor!

Finished Scones

