Potato Bell Pepper Frittata

Last week, I started my final rotation of my third year of medical school: surgery! Ending on a high note. And, as an added bonus, this rotation is only about 15 minutes from my home. I cannot tell you how amazing it is to not have a commute after battling traffic for a year. I feel like I’ve gained so much time, you know, because I have!

Because my rotation is so close to home, I no longer have that long commute during which I usually eat my breakfast. Trust me, no complaints on that end. So I’ve decided to make breakfasts that are best enjoyed sitting down. Ergo, the frittata! I adapted this recipe from Saveur.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb potatoes
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 small yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 8 eggs, well beaten
  • 2 cups frozen baby spinach, thawed
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into slices
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Instructions:

  1. Boil water in a large pan and add potatoes. Boil until they become soft enough to slice, but not so soft that they will crumble.
  2. After the potatoes cool, cut them into thin slices.
  3. Heat olive oil in a nonstick skillet. Add garlic and allow to to brown slightly. 
  4. Add the onions and allow them to soften slightly. 
  5. Add bell pepper slices and cook until they become soft. 
  6. Squeeze the water out of the spinach and add to the skillet. 
  7. Add the potato slices to the skillet. Place the slices of butter over the potatoes and stir into the mixture as they melt. Add salt and pepper to taste. 
  8. Set the oven broiler to high. Pour the eggs over the mixture and cook on the stove for about 8-10 minutes. Place the skillet in the oven and broil for 3-5 minutes. The top should be fluffy and golden, rising off the surface of the frittata. 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

