Strawberry Chocolate Tart

I think that tarts make for very beautiful desserts. The shape of the crust is simple and elegant and this is what prompted me to buy a tart pan a few months ago. Right now, all I have is the long rectangular tart pan but I so badly want a round one and mini ones, as well.

The other thing I love about tarts is that you have the opportunity to do a lot of decoration on the open surface of the tart. I have to admit that I was planning to do a different pattern with th strawberries on top of this tart. Sadly, I severely underestimated how long this recipe was going to take. I think I started baking around 7 pm and the tart wasn’t cool enough to decorate until 10 pm. I had an ED shift the next morning so, at that point, I decided to go for a simpler pattern.

As I write this post, I’m watching The Great British Bake Off. This is easily the best cooking competition show I’ve ever seen so if you haven’t seen it, you really should. What I love about it is that all the challenges are based on actual recipes. It’s not like those shows where the competitors are given a hodge-podge of ingredients to somehow incorporate into a dish. Don’t get me wrong, those shows can be thrilling but there’s not much opportunity to learn from them as a viewer. If you have watched the show, you understand why I feel that my baking skills are woefully inadequate at this point. These “amateur” bakers are not amateur at all. It brings to mind a certain line from a certain movie…

You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

The Princess Bride

If you didn’t recognize that quote right away, the movie is on Netflix and you need to watch it. Just add it to my list of recommendations. Anyway, I’ve decided to view this show as a creative challenge. Plus, it’s exposing me to so many beautiful recipes, which I will hopefully be able to try out sometime in the near future.

And now, to the recipe for this strawberry chocolate tart. I adapted this recipe from Cate’s at Chez Catey Lou.

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 1.5 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 9 tbsp very cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Filling

  • 8 oz bittersweet chocolate
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp butter, softened

Topping

  • 1 cup sliced strawberries
  • Powdered sugar for dusting

Instructions:

  1. Add flour, sugar, and salt to a food processor and pulse. Add butter and pulse until you get a coarse dough. Slowly add egg and continue to pulse until dough clumps together.
  2. Lightly knead dough a few times on a silicone mat. Press the dough into the bottom and sides of a greased tart pan. Prick the bottom of the dough with a  fork.
  3. Freeze dough for at least 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat oven to 375 deg F. Press parchment paper over the crust and fill with dried beans. This makes sure that the crust doesn’t rise too much and maintains its shape for the filling. Bake crust for 20-25 minutes.
  5. Remove parchment paper and beans and bake for an additional 10 minutes.
  6. Remove crust from oven and allow the crust to cool. Make the ganache filling in the meantime.
  7. Stir together cream and vanilla in a saucepan over low heat until the mixture starts to simmer.
  8. Pour cream over chocolate and whisk until the chocolate melts to make a smooth mixture. Add butter and continue to whisk. 
  9. Pour ganache into the cooled tart shell and spread into a smooth layer. The mixture should take about 10 minutes to set.
  10. Arrange strawberry slices over the tart into whatever pattern your heart desires. Dust with powdered sugar.

 

One thought on “Strawberry Chocolate Tart

Leave a Reply

