Stuffed Bell Peppers with Baked Eggs

I’m on my Emergency Medicine rotation right now and I’m really liking my experience. It’s a great specialty because you get to see so many different pathologies and it requires you to have a wide base of knowledge. I also love that there are so many procedures that you can do in the ER. Never a dull moment!

On the downside, the shifts are all over the place. Switching between day, evening, and night shifts has really disruptive to my sleep schedule. I’ve been handling it pretty well for the last two weeks but I’m really not sure that I could sustain it for too long.

But I’m always the glass-half-full, so here’s the silver lining to those pesky night shifts: I don’t need to eat breakfast on-the-go because my meals are at very strange times. So…I decided to make some savory breakfasts that I can actually sit down to eat! I happened to have some bell peppers in the fridge so I adapted this recipe from Heidi at FoodieCrush.

Now, I had the bell peppers for this recipe, but not the butternut squash. Remember when I said I do sometimes go grocery shopping for specific ingredients? Well, this was not one of those times. I happen to be quite resourceful. Or lazy, depending on how you look at it. Usually, my neighbor and I borrow ingredients from each other. But on this occasion, neither of us had what the other needed. So she stepped up to go shopping and agreed to get me some butternut squash. Proof of my *ahem* resourcefulness in the text messages below.

IMG_9598

But it was not yet time for the happy ending…because my neighbor accidentally brought me some yellow zucchini. Serves me right. Anyway, I eventually got the butternut squash (I continued to be…patient…and my mom went grocery shopping the next day). Now I just need to find a recipe for the zucchini. My mom happened to be making eggplant curry next to me while I was cooking so turmeric and cilantro made their way into the recipe. I think it worked well!


Ingredients:

  • 3 sweet bell peppers
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled, seeded and diced
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • Sea salt to taste
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 2 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1 cup marinara sauce
  • 6 eggs
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 deg F.
  2. Cut peppers in half and remove seeds. Place the peppers in a microwave dish, cut side up, and add 1/3 cup water to the bowl. Sprinkle peppers with sea salt, cover, and microwave for 5 minutes. Remove from microwave and set aside when done.
  3. Heat olive oil in a large skillet and add garlic. As garlic starts to brown, add onion and sauté for about 3 minutes. Add butternut squash, turmeric, and salt, cooking for 5 minutes. Then add vinegar and continue cooking until the butternut squash can be easily pierced with a fork.
  4. Pour marinara sauce into a baking dish. Place peppers cut side up in the dish and spoon butternut squash into the peppers. Create a small hollow for the eggs in the peppers.
  5. Bake peppers for 10 minutes, remove from oven, and add eggs to peppers.
  6. Season with black pepper and bake for an additional 10 minutes or until the eggs are cooked to your liking.
  7. Serve warm and enjoy!

One thought on “Stuffed Bell Peppers with Baked Eggs

Leave a Reply

