Roasted Ratatouille Pasta

 

I’ve been wanting to try making ratatouille since I watched the Disney Pixar movie about a rat who dreamed of becoming a chef. I mean, it’s not the most realistic story but it was still adorable. And it introduced me to many new dishes that I wanted to try. And the ratatouille that Remy made seemed simple enough to prepare. Though, again, it’s not the most realistic story so maybe I shouldn’t trust that particular cooking sequence in the movie.

When I decided to make ratatouille, it was mainly because I had the necessary ingredients at hand. This is probably a theme that you have noticed in my posts. It’s not to say that I never go grocery shopping for a specific recipe. But it’s easier to work with what I have. Or, to sound less lazy, I could say it challenges me to be a little creative to make the recipes work. So, when I looked in the refrigerator and saw eggplant, zucchini, and tomatoes, it suddenly occurred to me that I could make ratatouille. It’s only been about 9 years since I first decided I wanted to try this dish…better late than never, right?

My recipe is a variation of the recipe posted by The Woks of Life. I basically ended up doubling the vegetables. After I baked the first batch of vegetables, and mixed it with the fettuccine, the vegetables seemed so sparse. I guess I hadn’t counted on them shrinking so much in the oven. And I like to have a heavier veggies-to-pasta ratio so I just ended up making a second batch.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups diced zucchini
  • 4 cups diced eggplant
  • 2 onions, diced
  • 4 large tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 tbsp tomato sauce
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 8 oz. fettuccine
  • Parmesan cheese

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 deg.
  2. In a large bowl, mix zucchini, eggplant, onions, and tomatoes.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together olive oil, garlic, tomato sauce, basil, oregano, rosemary, salt, and pepper. Toss the vegetables with this mixture.
  4. Line a large baking pan with foil. Spread vegetables in a single layer over the pan. Bake the vegetables for 20 minutes, stir, and continue baking for another 20 minutes. 
  5. While the vegetables are baking, bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add fettuccine and cook until al dente.
  6. Toss the fettuccine with the roasted ratatouille. Top with freshly grated parmesan cheese and enjoy!

 

One thought on “Roasted Ratatouille Pasta

Leave a Reply

