Lemon Cranberry Scones

When I first started my #recipeoftheday project almost three years ago, one of the first food blogs I discovered was Skinnytaste. Gina’s recipes were easy to follow and she includes the nutritional information for all of her recipes, something I really appreciate. I’ve tried so many of her recipes and I don’t think I’ve had any disappointments. So basically what I’m saying is…check out her blog! This is almost exactly Gina’s recipe for Lemon Cranberry Scones.

I love scones, I think they’re kind of the perfect breakfast food. They’re light, they’re fluffy, they come in so many different flavors so you don’t get bored of them. And the best part, for me anyway, is that they travel well. I usually end up eating my breakfast on my way to work because 1) I don’t wake up any earlier than I need to so I don’t have time to eat at home, and 2) the closer breakfast is to the start of the work day, the longer I last before that gnawing feeling in my stomach reaches the point where I think I might pass out. Hopefully, by then it’s time for a lunch break. Or if it looks like there’s not going to be a lunch break that day, I finally break into that granola bar I keep in my white coat at all times. Hungry doctors don’t make good doctors so you have to find a survival method. So far, this is what I’ve come up with.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp chilled butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup low fat buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

For the glaze (optional):

  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 deg F.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. Add butter and mix until it resembles a coarse meal.
    • I like to grate the butter because it’s just too hard to cut almost frozen butter. We’ve all been there so you know what I’m talking about. Grating the butter gets it into the really small pieces you need for the recipe and also makes it easy to mix with the flour.  
    • I know scones recipes usually say to cut the butter into the flour with knives, but what does that even mean?? It sounds unnecessarily complicated. Just use your hands.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together buttermilk, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, vanilla extract, and eggs.
    • I like to whisk the mixture very well so it has a somewhat fluffy appearance to it, not just well combined. I find that this makes the scones softer.
  4. Add buttermilk mixture to flour and combine well. Fold in the dried cranberries.
  5. Lightly knead the dough and spread into a 8-inch circle on a baking sheet. Use a knife to cut the dough into 8 wedges.
  6. If you want to add the glaze, whisk together sugar and lemon juice and brush over the dough.  
  7. Bake for about 18-20 minutes, until the dough turns golden or a toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy! The scones usually last about a week for me and taste well even when reheated. So eat them fresh out of the oven or stretch them through the week as it fits your needs!

One thought on “Lemon Cranberry Scones

Leave a Reply

