Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Oat Bread

This was breakfast for this week. Usually I’ll see bananas sitting in the kitchen and find recipes that allow me to use them in my baking. But when I’m ready to go, all of a sudden there’s only one banana left. I cannot tell you how many times this has happened. And the culprit? My dad. For once, the bananas hadn’t all been consumed by the time I started my baking. So I decided to incorporate them into this recipe and used them to add natural sweetness to the loaves.
Ingredients:

  1. 3 cups oats
  2. 1 tsp baking powder
  3. 1/4 tsp salt
  4. 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  5. 1 egg, beaten
  6. 3 mashed bananas + 1 banana sliced into 1/4 inch slices
  7. 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I used 1/3 less sodium and sugar)
  8. 1/2 cup almond milk
  9. 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  10. 1 tsp vanilla

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 deg F.
  2. Whisk together oats, baking powder, salt, and chocolate chips in a bowl.
  3. Mash 3 bananas in another bowl. Whisk in peanut butter, egg, vanilla, Greek yogurt, and almond milk. IMG_9362.jpg
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, mixing as you combine the two. IMG_9363.jpg
  5. Grease mini loaf tins (you can also use a muffin tray) with nonstick cooking spray.
  6. Spoon mixture into tins. Top with banana slices.  
  7. Bake for 25 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Allow the loaves to cool completely before removing from tins.

 

Leave a Reply

