Sweet Potato Noodles with Cashew Sauce

Remember that other spiralizer recipe I mentioned was on the stove in my Ramen Zoodle post? Well here it finally is. I found this recipe on Pinch of Yum but made a few variations of my own. Essentially, I added mushrooms and tofu. Because I had bought these mushrooms intending to use them in my Ramen Zoodle recipe but I ended up using the enoki mushrooms, instead. And I love mushrooms so I worked them into this recipe. As for the tofu, just one word: protein.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 cup cashews
  2. Enough water to soak cashews in
  3. 1 tablespoon olive oil
  4. 4 large sweet potatoes
  5. 1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions
  6. 2 cups spinach
  7. 8 oz sliced mushrooms
  8. 350 g extra firm tofu

Instructions:

  1. Soak cashews in a bowl of water for 2 hours.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 deg F.
  3. In the meantime, sprialize the sweet potatoes.
  4. Slice tofu into triangles and arrange on a baking sheet. Bake slices for 10 minutes, flip over slices, and bake for an additional 10 minutes. The slices should be crisp but make sure they don’t burn.
  5. In a large pan, heat the olive oil and add mushrooms. Cook them until they become soft.
  6. Add the sweet potatoes and toss for about 5 minutes until they are crispy.
  7. Add spinach and green onions to the pan and allow them to wilt. Remove pan form heat.
  8. Blend together cashews and about 3/4 cup of the soaking water until it becomes a smooth mixture. Mix with noodles.
  9. Top with tofu. If additional spice is desired, add red pepper flakes.

You could be fancy and toss the tofu in olive oil and spices before you bake them. But the flavors in this recipe are pretty mild and I didn’t want to overwhelm them. “But at least some salt and pepper,” you say? Yes, you could. But once the ingredients are all mixed together, you probably won’t taste the salt and pepper so why add it unnecessarily? Plus, I’m trying to make sure you don’t all get hypertension. I’m already envisioning a blog post about the DASH diet…

Now I made a mistake with this recipe around instruction #6. I cooked the sweet potatoes too long and basically all the noodles broke apart. Sad, I know. May you all learn from my mistakes. At least it tasted good!

One thought on “Sweet Potato Noodles with Cashew Sauce

Leave a Reply

