Coconut Mango Oatmeal Mini Loaves


Some of you may be under the impression that I cook every day. Let me be clear, I do not. Sometimes, yes. But what usually happens is that I go crazy on one day, usually that one day that I don’t have to go to the hospital for work, and I make as many dishes as I can to get me through the next week. So this recipe happens to be my breakfast for this week.

I’ve had some frozen mango chunks sitting in my fridge for months and, luckily, I remembered that today before I got into my cooking frenzy. So that was the main inspiration for this recipe.

I also used Greek yogurt in this recipe instead of the usual milk mixture. Why, you ask? Well, because I’m vegetarian and always looking for a way to integrate protein into my recipes and Greek yogurt happens to be very versatile.

Ingredients:

  1. 2 1/2 cups oats
  2. 3 teaspoons baking powder
  3. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  4. 1 cup sweetened coconut flakes + 1/4 cup for garnishing
  5. 2 cups plain Greek yogurt
  6. 2 large eggs
  7. 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  8. 3/4 cup coconut oil
  9. 1/2 cup sugar
  10. 2 cups mango chunks (if using frozen, let them thaw first)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 370 deg F.
  2. Whisk together oats, baking powder, salt, and 1 cup coconut flakes in a large bowl. Oats
  3. In another bowl, whisk together the Greek yogurt, eggs, vanilla extract, coconut oil, and sugar.
  4. Slowly mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients.
  5. Gently fold in mango chunks.
  6. Spray no-stick cooking spray into mini loaf pan and spoon mixture into loaves. Top with coconut flakes. Loaf Pan
  7. Bake for 25 minutes. Allow them to cool completely before removing from pan.

Coconut Mango Loaf

This recipe made me 12 mini loaves. You could also use a muffin tray if you don’t have a mini loaf tray. I find that muffins are too small to get me from 5 am to whenever I happen to get my lunch break. So if you’re like me and require more sustenance, invest in a mini loaf pan.

I felt that the coconut overwhelmed the mango in this recipe. I’m Indian and we’re very particular about mangoes. So next time I make this recipe, I’ll have to play around with the ratios. Always a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

